Wild Company

Wild Company

The Untold Story of Banana Republic

Book - 2012
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
In the tradition of Pour Your Heart Into It and How Starbucks Saved My Life , a surprising and inspiring memoir from the founders of Banana Republic.

With $1,500 and no business experience, Mel and Patricia Ziegler turned a wild idea into a company that would become the international retail colossus Banana Republic. Re-imagining military surplus as safari and expedition wear, the former journalist and artist created a world that captured the zeitgeist for a generation and spoke to the creativity, adventure, and independence in everyone.

In a book that's honest, funny, and charming, Mel and Patricia tell in alternating voices how they upended business conventions and survived on their wits and imagination. Many retail and fashion merchants still consider Banana Republic's early heyday to be one of the most remarkable stories in fashion and business history. The couple detail how, as "professional amateurs," they developed the wildly original merchandise and marketing innovations that broke all retail records and produced what has been acclaimed by industry professionals to be "the best catalogue of all time."

A love story wrapped in a business adventure, Wild Company is a soulful, inspiring tale for readers determined to create their own destiny with a passion for life and work and fun.
Publisher: New York, NY : Simon & Schuster, 2012.
Edition: First Simon & Schuster hardcover edition.
ISBN: 9781451683486
Branch Call Number: 381.456870973 ZIE
Characteristics: x, 208 pages : illustrations ; 23 cm
Additional Contributors: Ziegler, Patricia
Alternative Title: Untold story of Banana Republic

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

e
emvokspl
Mar 02, 2015

I enjoyed the writing style, and loved the energy of this book. A very quick read...as in a couple of hours. Fun, and light, and a little inspirational.

hgeng63 Nov 25, 2012

Nostalgia trip for me. Very easy to read.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at HPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top