Freed by Flame and Storm

Freed by Flame and Storm

Book - 2017
Rate this:
For fans of Tamora Pierce and Kristin Cashore comes the exciting and thoughtful social-justice fantasy sequel to Bound by Blood and Sand .

Revolution is nigh, and one seventeen-year-old girl stands at the head of it all.

Jae used to be a slave, laboring with the rest of her people under a curse that forced her to obey any order she was given. At seventeen, she found the source of her people's lost magic and became the only person to break free--ever. Now she wants to use her power to free the rest of her people, but the ruling class will do anything to stop her.

Jae knows that breaking the curse on her people would cause widespread chaos, even unimaginable violence between the castes, and her caste would likely see the worst of it. Many would die. But to let them remain shackled is to doom them to continue living without free will.

How is one girl, raised a slave and never taught to wield power, supposed to decide the fate of a nation?

"Much food for thought and discussion; but above all, a gripping read." -- Kirkus Reviews

"Unflinchingly honest...A satisfying sequel." -- SLJ

"The action of this memorable story is fast and furious, its challenges many, and the fight for right ever-present." -- Booklist
Publisher: Random House Children's Books 2017
ISBN: 9781101932186
Characteristics: 352 p.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

  Loading...

Find it at HPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top