Organ Music

Organ Music

Printed Music - 1970--
Rate this:

The renowned Bach-Gesellschaft -- founded in 1850 to collect, edit, and publish all the known works of J. S. Bach -- devoted 50 years to its monumental task. It succeeded so well in tracking down Bach's heritage, establishing authenticity, and transcribing accurate texts that it still remains the primary source for Bach's music. Unfortunately, it has always been a fantastically expensive publication, accessible only in the largest libraries.
This volume reprints in full, directly from the Bach-Gesellschaft volumes, important organ music by the greatest composer for the organ. It contains the full texts of the Six Trio Sonatas; the St. Anne Prelude and Fugue in E-flat Major; the Four Duets and Seventeen Chorale Preludes (the "German Organ Mass") from the Clavier#65533;bung; the complete Orgelb#65533;chlein; the Six Sch#65533;bler Chorales; and the Eighteen Chorale Preludes. Appendices also reproduce two early variants from the Orgelb#65533;chlein and 115 from the Eighteen Choral Preludes.
This music has been reproduced in large, clear type, directly from the original editions, for maximum clarity. Designed as a playing edition, it will not only be a necessary part of the library of every church organist, it will be a basic book in the library of every organist, keyboard performer, musicologist, student, and music lover.

Publisher: New York : Dover Publications, [1970]--
Edition: Bach-Gesellschaft ed.
Copyright Date: ©1970
ISBN: 9780486223599
Branch Call Number: 786.8054 BACH
Characteristics: 360 pages of music ; 28 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at HPL

To Top