When You Ask Me Where I'm Going

When You Ask Me Where I'm Going

eBook - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
4
Perfect for fans of Rupi Kaur and Elizabeth Acevedo, Jasmin Kaur's stunning debut novel is a collection of poetry, illustrations, and prose. scream so that one day a hundred years from now another sister will not have to dry her tears wondering where in history she lost her voice The six sections of the book explore what it means to be a young woman living in a world that doesn't always hear her and tell the story of Kiran as she flees a history of trauma and raises her daughter, Sahaara, while living undocumented in North America. Delving into current cultural conversations including sexual assault, mental health, feminism, and immigration, this narrative of resilience, healing, empowerment, and love will galvanize readers to fight for what is right in their world.
Publisher: 2019.
ISBN: 9780062912633
Characteristics: 1 online resource

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
m
mogie
Jul 14, 2020

I am not typically a reader of poetry. I think that I saw this suggested on my library's website and decided to read it. I enjoyed the powerful messages and illustrations. It was a lovely collection of poetry. I would recommend it to young women as an introduction to poetry. And women in general. I think it captures a wide range of experiences and some of the pieces felt deeply personal. I read the electronic version and some of the images were cut off.

l
lissa_adamson
Jun 19, 2020

Very well done. So much more than a poetry book...

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
May 11, 2020

This book was very meaningful. Throughout the book I explored many messages about resilience, healing, empowerment and love. These messages were explored through the life of Sahaara. Sahaara is a brave character that I liked very much, she fled her country to go to North America for a better life for her daughter. This book took me to Sahaara’s perspective on life. Overall this book was a great read to keep your mind off of stressful things. It was little bit of a wait for this book, but it was definitely worth it. 4/5
@momo of The Hamilton Public Library's Teen Review Board

vpl_teens Sep 11, 2019

Reviewed by Michelle X. for Teens Read it First

Rating: 5/5

“When You Ask Me Where I’m Going” by Jasmin Kaur is a delightful collection of poetry and prose that causes the reader to reflect on their own lives and the parallels they may share.. Kaur’s writing revolves around recurring themes of identity, womanhood, immigration, silence, and trauma. Accompanied by powerful illustrations, this body of work is rich in culture with a fleeting feeling of belonging. The double narrative is able to intertwine seamlessly in a way that brings emphasis to how the central themes of the collection are experiences shared by many.

I absolutely fell in love with this book and could not put it down. As a young woman of colour myself, many poems resonated deeply with me; I am so glad there are writers like Jasmin Kaur who are willing to explore topics, like social justice and mental health, that mainstream literature tends to shy away from.”‘When You Ask Me Where I’m Going” is a recommended read for fans of Rupi Kaur and Lang Leav. The book voices the unheard, challenges perspectives. and brings truth in its every word — all of which are things the publishing world needs more of.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at HPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top