The Four Yogas

The Four Yogas

A Guide to the Spiritual Paths of Action, Devotion, Meditation, and Knowledge

Book - 2006
Average Rating:
Rate this:

Choose the Yoga path that best suits you, and you choose the way to know God.

The philosophy of Yoga tells us that the root cause of our sorrows and suffering is loss of contact with our true Self. Our recovery is only possible by reestablishing contact with our innermost Self, the Reality of all realities, and by recognizing that knowledge of Self is our salvation.

In this comprehensive guide, Swami Adiswarananda introduces the four spiritual paths of Yoga--Karma-Yoga, Bhakti-Yoga, Raja-Yoga and Jnana-Yoga--and what you can expect as an aspirant on each path. Covering the message and practice of each of the Yogas as well as philosophy and psychology, preparatory practices, common obstacles and ways to overcome them, this accessible book will prove invaluable to anyone wishing to follow a Yoga practice in order to realize the goal of Self-knowledge.

Publisher: Woodstock, VT : SkyLight Paths Pub., [2006]
Copyright Date: ©2006
ISBN: 9781594731433
Branch Call Number: 294.5436 ADI
Characteristics: viii, 297 pages ; 24 cm

Related Resources


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at HPL

To Top