À La Cart

À La Cart

The Secret Lives of Grocery Shoppers

Book - 2008
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
A comic original in the tradition of Tracey Ullman and Lily Tomlin--with Cindy Sherman's eye--Hillary Carlip transforms herself into America's most unforgettable grocery shoppers. It's happened to all of us--we find, tucked away in the corner of our shopping cart, someone's discarded grocery list. Who's the person buying "Whole milk, heavy cream, ice cream, cheese, and Gas-Ex?" Why would someone need to write down "Coors and Oreos" on a matchbook cover--couldn't he just remember those two items? And what's the person like who scrawled their list on a PROZAC notepad? Taking her clues from the items listed, the types of paper written on, the handwriting, and even misspellings ("Aunt Spray"), Hillary saw that each list--at once mundane and personal--offered an intimate peek into a complete stranger's life. She chose 26 lists and imagined who the shoppers might be. She then transformed herself into all 26 people, one by one, literally stepping into each character--all ages, genders, and ethnicities--with hair, makeup, outfits, and one Fu Manchu. Photographer Barbara Green then captured unforgettable images of Hillary portraying these shoppers at their neighborhood markets. Hillary came to love these characters, so her accompanying stories for each are as poignant and hilarious as the photographs. She brings to life richly imagined inner worlds, including one for macho Woody, a self-described "Lady's Man with NO BANKRUPTCIES ready to meet just one Special Lady with NO KIDS." After getting to know these grocery shoppers through Miss Carlip's dedicated voyeurism, going to the supermarket will never be the same.
Publisher: New York : Virgin Books, [2008]
Edition: First edition.
Copyright Date: ©2008
ISBN: 9781905264179
1905264178
Branch Call Number: 818 CARLI
Characteristics: 120 pages : color illustrations ; 21 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

c
choberygu
Dec 08, 2010

I don't know what's funnier, the actual grocery lists or the character's Carlip creates to go with each one. I have never looked at my shopping list the same way - I'm always curious what someone would think if they were to see it in all it's crumpled glory with a hodgepodge of items scribbled on.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at HPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top