Unseen

Unseen

Book - 2006
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
Swedish crime at its best---dark, atmospheric, and chilling
The island of Gotland is in the middle of a busy tourist season and getting ready for Midsummer, the 4th of July of Swedish holidays, when a young woman and her dog are found brutally murdered. The dog has been beheaded and is missing a paw; the woman is naked, covered in gruesome axe wounds, and her panties have been stuffed in her mouth.
What looks like a crime committed by the victim's jealous husband keeps the local police force on their toes. Then a second victim is found. A serial killer terrorizes tourists and locals alike, and Inspector Anders Knutas has to face additional pressure from the media and local politicians who are worried about bad PR for the island.
In his quest for the murderer, he is aided by Johan Berg, an intrepid young journalist from Stockholm who has been sent to cover the incidents and who gets involved with Emma, one of the first victim's close friends. Three women die before Knutas and Berg, each approaching the case in their own way, finally close in on the killer, who has always, until now, been the one unseen by everybody.
Jungstedt has written an atmospheric and exciting first mystery in clear, unadorned prose, in the tradition of Henning Mankell, Hakan Nesser, and Karin Fossum.
Publisher: New York, NY : St. Martin's Minotaur, 2006.
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9780312351571
0312351577
Branch Call Number: JUN
Characteristics: 246 pages : 1 map ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
maipenrai
Nov 06, 2016

FIRST BOOK IN THE Inspector Anders Knutas series

c
CB2295
Jan 10, 2012

This is book #1 in the Inspector Anders Knutas series set on the small and fascinating Swedish island province of Gøtland; this is a page-turner that combines a good story with continual introspection on the part of all characters and the Gøtland atmosphere is wound in quite well without overwhelming the story; the main downside is that the last part of the story was a bit too pat and there were a couple of loose ends that the author apparently didn’t know how to resolve, but I got hold of the next one in the series before I was even a fourth of the way through this one

h
h19835195
Nov 16, 2011

As I continue working my way through the Scandanavian authors, this is my first taste of Mari Jungstedt, a Swedish author. This is her first book, and unfortunately I found it a bit ho-hum. Although it had all the characteristics of a good mystery, I had already worked out "whodunnit" way before the ending, which is rather disappointing. Perhaps I should change career and offer my services to the Swedish police force. I would have caught the killer way before they did. Something I found very irritating about this book was the English translation, which was obviously done by an American, as it was littered with the use of the word "gotten". Not even a "real" word in my eyes. Grrr.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at HPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top