The Story of Modern Financial Insanity

Book - 2009
Average Rating:
Rate this:
When it comes to markets, the first deadly sin is greed. Michael Lewis is our jungle guide through five of the most violent and costly upheavals in recent financial history: the crash of '87, the Russian default (and the subsequent collapse of Long-Term Capital Management), the Asian currency crisis of 1999, the Internet bubble, and the current sub-prime mortgage disaster. With his trademark humor and brilliant anecdotes, Lewis paints the mood and market factors leading up to each event, weaves contemporary accounts to show what people thought was happening at the time, and then, with the luxury of hindsight, analyzes what actually happened and what we should have learned from experience.As he proved in Liar's Poker, The New New Thing, and Moneyball, Lewis is without peer in his understanding of market forces and human foibles. He is also, arguably, the funniest serious writer in America.
Publisher: New York : W. W. Norton & Company, [2009]
Copyright Date: ©2009
ISBN: 9780393065145
Branch Call Number: 338.542 PAN
Characteristics: viii, 391 pages ; 25 cm
Additional Contributors: Lewis, Michael (Michael M.)


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Aug 25, 2013

Michael Lewis, with this book, offers conclusive proof he either understands nothing about finance, or he is completely disingenuous in his writing on it.

Feb 04, 2012

Michael Lewis is a consistently good author. Any of his books are a good read.

This book will make you want to disband Wall Street.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at HPL

To Top